New to fta...using old dish for fta?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dishboyv2

Original poster
Jan 19, 2007
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole fta satellite thing and would like some guidance. I just bought a Viewsat Ultra vs2000. I already have a current dish installled on my roof, a DirecTV Phase III (3 LNB w/ 4 outputs). Before I had Dish Network and stopped using it because lost progamming and has no signal. So yeah, I have no experience of installing satellite whatsoever because I didn't install the dish. Is the current dish I have installed on the roof in the right position to receive fta? I want to install using one fta receiver for one tv for now and later purchase a second one for another room. The there are 3 LNBs on the dish w/ 4 outputs. What output do I connect to? Also the receiver came with a 4in1 DiseqC switch. What is it for? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

The dish could possibly be modified for use in FTA, but the lnbf's are useless. Directv uses a different scheme in there process, where most FTA is mpeg2, Directv uses something different. I'm not sure what it is, I think it might be mpeg1.5 or such, but I know the Viewsat or any other receiver won't work with those lnbf's. I would recommend getting a larger dish, at least 30"s and a motor, if you can afford it. You will also need a FTA ku lnbf, I would recommend one with a dual output, since you plan to get more receivers, in the future. The Diseqc switch is not necessary for one dish (one lnbf), but it will be good to have if you get more lnbf's in the future. Good Luck!

Al

I almost forgot. Welcome to the Forum!

I'm also new to FTA, but not new to Satellite TV in general, and I can tell you that that dish is no good for FTA use. You need at least a 30" dish (depending on where you live) and a linear lnb for the Ku birds. The lnbs on that dish are circular. They will only be able to pick up subscription DBS satellites (ie. Directv, Dish, ExpressVU from Canada).