Newbie Questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

landysaccount

Original poster
May 8, 2008
Hello everyone.Someone in this forum said "FTA is addictive". I thought it was kidding. It is quite addictive. I'm new to this and I'm getting hooked. I'm in Domincan Republic, there arent many restrictions here as in the States. Cable here sucks and I had to find an alternative to it: FTA satellite system. Its great but, since I'm new to this I have a lot of questions. I was able to install a 5' dish with two LNBs one hitting 110W Echostar 8,6 and the other 119W Echostar 7. I'm able to get 65% signal strength on both but the quality is not the same; I get 75% quality for 110W and 32-40% for 119W. How can I bring increase this quality?I would like to know on what satellite can I receive NYC's local ABC, NBC, FOX, UNIVISION among others? I'm already thinking of installing another dish to try hitting 30W Hispasat and/or 61.5W Echostar 3. Can I use standard LNBs for any of these satellites?My location's coordinates: LAT: 19.289 LON: -70.249Thanks in advance for all your help and apologies for all the crammed questions in one post.

I don't know what happened to the original post that everything was so squeezed up but here it is again:

Hello everyone.

Someone in this forum said "FTA is addictive". I thought it was kidding. It is quite addictive.

I'm new to this and I'm getting hooked. I'm in Domincan Republic, there arent many restrictions here as in the States. Cable here sucks and I had to find an alternative to it: FTA satellite system. Its great but, since I'm new to this I have a lot of questions.

I was able to install a 5' dish with two LNBs one hitting 110W Echostar 8,6 and the other 119W Echostar 7. I'm able to get 65% signal strength on both but the quality is not the same; I get 75% quality for 110W and 32-40% for 119W.

How can I bring increase this quality?