Newbie Questions

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

EakSky

Original poster
Dec 2, 2007
IL
Newbie Questions
I have two dish network dishs and one direct tv dish and picking up an 8 foot dish c band (c I think) and I am looking for a receiver that could work with all so I could lock into multiple sats (I think I need a good switch too) Ultimately I would like to have the obvious, lots of channels (preferred HD), and eventually four receivers. So the real question is what do I buy? Again I am a newbie and really have no clue where to start. I'll even take a book title as a response :) What brands or models of a receiver will receive both big and little dishes (basically the entire x to K spectrum) email me or post please

All receivers will work with DBS, Ku, and C-Band, however the DirecTV and Dish Network dishes you have are not going to be of much use. They use DBS LNBs, and are too small to reliably receive Ku-Band even if the LNBs were to be changed. There's not much on DBS that is in the clear, as Dish scrambled the few clear channels that used to be there. The C-Band dish will be very useful if you can find space to mount it. For reliable Ku-Band, you'll want at least a 30 inch dish and a Ku-Band LNB.

As for a receiver, my current recommendation is an Openbox S9. Its not perfect, but none of them are. The Openbox will do HD and DVB-S2 in addition to the common DVB-S format.

If your 8' dish is in good enough shape, you might want to find a nice new
C/Ku LNBF for it, I'm using a DMX-741 on a 10' motorized dish and pull in
quite a few decent channels on both bands.