Newbie says hi

Status
Please reply by conversation.

badpistacio

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 19, 2009
Monterey, CA
Hi. Very interesting and informative site. I'm totally new to FTA and will be setting up a system in about six weeks in the Monterey, CA area. Since I have HD TVs, I'm leaning to the Azbox Elite HD receiver. I also know that I want the dish to be motorized so I can pick up more than one satellite.

Can anyone give me info on what to look for regarding the dish? I'm only going with the Ku band. Also, any info on what LNBFs to get would be great.

I don't have DirectTV or Dish Network and am not interested in either of those. I'll be adding an OTA HD antennae to get locals. I'm only interested getting the programming floating around out there that's free and would like to get as much as possible (without going with C band - since I don't have room for the dish). I'm NOT into pirating anything.

I'll have other questions down the road. But thanks in advance!

:welcome

Check out what the sponsors have to offer at the top of this page.
There are many dishes to choose from.

Browse the different systems folks are using by looking at their sig lines. Most folks list their equipment.

comprehensive system:

Let me suggest that you focus on the following products.
You can search for them on the web, look at them on our Gold Sponsor's web sites, see if we have reviews, and search for comments here in the FTA department.
There're lots of choices on the market, but we can help you get focused quickly to a few choices.

- dish: 36", 1 meter, or 1.2 meter. They're all good.
Bigger is better if you have lots of rain or looking for a few weak signals.
See our Review department and read a several-year old review of the Fortec 36" and how it compared to smaller dishes.
We also have reviews of later model 1.2m dishes, and while exceptional performers, you should try to decide how much dish you need and what you want to spend.