Novice Needs DVR Advice

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

wrj

Original poster
Nov 9, 2006
I jumping from Comcast to DirecTV with the install of service next week. The deal we signed up for includes a "free" DVR upgrade. I am a complete novice but with what little I've read, the free DVR upgrade (not sure of model but maybe R15???) will probably not be very good.

I do not have HD TV.

I have DVR with Comcast but would apprciate suggestions for other models of DVR for Directv (beyond the one I'll get for free).

What would be a good alternative DVR? I seen Tivo discussed but what model number? Also, do I have to pay an additional fee with Tivo?

Also, what other models of DVRs would do the job?
Thanks
Bill

You don't have a choice. There are only 2 current DVR models. R15 standard def and HR20 High def (neither are Tivo based). All the Tivo models haven't been made in some time (DirecTV doesn't do Tivo anymore) but you might be able to find some on e-Bay or get real luck at a Costco or something.

Your "free" upgrade would be to the R15. If you could I'd try to get the HR20 just because it has "fixed" some of the things that still aren't on the R15 plus has a lot more recording space. You don't have to have HD to use it, you could just use it for SD programming only with no problem. But if you ever get an HDTV you'd be ready to go.