OS mio 4K

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by raydio, Dec 29, 2018.

  1. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    I received my box yesterday and started to play immediately! Set-up was very simple and only took a few minutes until it was ready to go.

    Blindscan seems to be faster that the VU+ Zero 4K but service scan seems to take quite a bit longer. I scanned three satellites 103W, 91W and 87W and the service scan was rather slow. However the service scan on 97W was quicker so perhaps it has to do with the individual transponders. Perhaps others with the same box can confirm service scan on these satellites. I should also say that I was using the stock image.

    So far very happy with this box and especially happy that it does the NBC NC-1 MUX!
     
    #1 raydio, Dec 29, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018
    Titanium, KE4EST and comfortably_numb like this.
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    The difference in the service logging observation is with the image. I have observed that in an apples to apples comparission, OpenPLI images have performed faster service scans than OpenATV images. :)

    I am going to load OpenPLI tomorrow.
     
    Chewie, pmasterp, KE4EST and 2 others like this.
  3. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    Well the s2x transponders on SES10 scaned in. That's why I bought the mio4k to test that. Found a bunch of radio FTA.
    The transponders have to be manually scanned in they are 11800 and 11920 H 49000. The foot print for ses 10 is lower usa and south.
    Thanks Titanium.
     
    KE4EST, Chewie, raydio and 2 others like this.
  4. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    Hello Guys
    Regarding the signal level, the highest I seen is about 67%, what kind of signal levels are you guys getting?
    Let me know.
    Regards
    Tunder.
     
  5. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Hi Tunder...I am seeing signal level as high as 70% or so...this box seems lower than the VU+ Zero 4K
     
  6. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    FN11od
    I don't have one of these yet but... Is there any way to get real units? Because it's always been really ridiculous to have a technical discussion without real units...
     
    raydio likes this.
  7. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Yes one can switch between % and DB
     
  8. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    NPR MUX 91W VU+Zero4K 12302018.png
    It's been said on the legitfta forum that the OS mio 4K will do the NPR MUX on 91W if the satdreamgr image is used. For some reason I am unable to lock on the transponder so I cannot test.

    The VU+Zero4K will lock onto the transponder as above, however on the OS mio 4K there is no indication of the transponder at all...not even a blip. The VU did not find the transponder during blindscan, I had to add it manually. Tried adding manually to the OS mio and there was nothing.

    I am using OpenPLi 7.0RC on the VU+ and satdreamgr 6.2 on the OS mio.
     
    #8 raydio, Dec 30, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2018
    Titanium likes this.
  9. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Found that I had to adjust the frequency of the NPR transponder to 11908 in order for the mio to lock on it. Once locked I was able to scan in all NPR channels and a few of them were active. So yes Virginia, the mio does work with the satdreamgr image for the NPR Mux!


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    pmasterp and Titanium like this.
  10. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Also found that the mio plays the NPR mux using the OpenSPA image as well -
     
  11. hwboy4

    hwboy4 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Deep in the swamps of Jersey
    Currently running OpenATV 6.2 nightly on the mio 4K and don't see a way of doing a PID scan so the "hidden" radio streams on 103W can be discovered. Is there another distro compatible with this receiver which supports PID scan?
     
    raydio likes this.
  12. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Those will not come up on a blind scan. There are a couple of threads regarding the musak services on 103W. You have to enter the PID's manually. I will try to search for the threads and post the links here.

    https://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/ses-3-music-help.378841/

    This thread really was for your basic non-Enigma 2 box. For our mio boxes you will need to use something like dreamset which will allow you to connect with your box and to edit the files necessary to receive these channels. It took me a while to master the application and figure out to use it, but there are a couple of guys on the forum who have done it and can help if necessary.
     
  13. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    You can do a PID scan. It is done by installing dvb snoop with PuTTY and opkg update .I've never done it myself yet but was told it is compatible with the mio4k.Tried with the vuzero4k and dvb snoop was not compatible with it. I just used the PIDs from lyngsat and using dreamset added them to my channels. Even if the pids are found with dvb snoop still got to use dreamset to add them.
     
  14. raydio

    raydio Topic Starter K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    825
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    The PID scan is not necessary when you use this, and Lyngsat is way outdated...

    Index of /wpn/xml

    It is an up-to-date listing of music services and PID's and a listing of the last few songs played on each service -
     
    SDA_FL_USA likes this.
  15. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    96
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    FL
    Also with just PIDs only would not know what to name the channel.Up to date listing is the way to go.
     
  16. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    maritimes
  17. hwboy4

    hwboy4 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Deep in the swamps of Jersey
  18. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    That's odd, it works fine for me. Wait a minute, that's in the special shielded "What's up there" forum. You have to request access to it from a mod. Then you'll be ok.
     
  19. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    catamount and primestar31 like this.
  20. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    California
    I try the Link and still does not work, it wants permissions.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...