1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Edision OS Mio 4K first impressions

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by Corrado, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. Corrado

    Corrado Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Hudson Valley Region, NY
    I received the Edision Friday and didn't get around to setting it up until last night. I cannot express how much I love this receiver!

    Setup was a snap. I've been using E2 for 3 years now with mostly OpenPLI images on my Amiko as a personal preference. Some were 4+ minutes to boot, such as the PurE2 images. The Edision boots quick, which was one of my previous questions.

    I like the NA SatDreamGR image the box shipped with and for now, I don't think I will load other images. I really like the GUI look.

    I highly recommend one for anyone on the fence about purchasing.
     
    . Raine, raydio, Titanium and 3 others like this.
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Finest STB I've ever owned. There's almost nothing it can't do!
     
  3. c-spand

    c-spand Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    N. California
    I have to agree. I had the Manhattan rc 1978 and it worked great. But wanted to upgrade with a new box to keep up with 4k and multi-streaming and more technology in the future. This does that. I have the North American SatDreamGR and a first time user of enigma2. I still haven't even scratched the surface on all the bells and whistles. Happy that there are forums like this. I was researching alot and saw that the O!@#$%^ 4k from Germany was having alot of issues and made the move to get the Edision Mio 4k. Very cool box. Thank you for everyone involved to make this happen.
     
    raydio, comfortably_numb and Titanium like this.
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I agree with both of you, hands-down it's the best receiver I've ever owned. I've tried 5 different images so far, and the NA SDGr image is by far my favorite.

    I also have a Hauppauge 955q ATSC usb dongle coming that I snagged off Ebay for $21.50, so I'll try that out also. I've also been thinking about getting an SDR radio dongle, and setting it up for local scanning. I also plan on an ATSC 3.0 dongle when those become available.

    I have a 7-port Amazon Basics 4amp usb 2.0 hub just waiting and ready for all this.
     
  5. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Could you link to that Amazon hub? I've been wanting to get one.
     
  6. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I bought mine off of Ebay and got a better price, but it's not bad direct from Amazon:

     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Do you need a special antenna for the SDR dongle to work?
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yes, I have heard that you do, at least one with an SMA end for whatever frequency you need it for..



    https://www.rtl-sdr.com/
     
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Looks like this one comes with an antenna. Is this the model compatible with the Edision?
     
  10. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yes, I got it off another post of Brian's in this forum.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  11. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    6,111
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    That is one of the best inexpensive RTL-SDR dongles on the market at this time. Any RTL2832U based dongle is supported by Enigma 2 STBs.

    The included antenna is basically a starter throw away as is would only receive local FM broadcasts and the strongest public service business and amateur radio signals. If you are serious about listening to VHF/UHF consider at a minimum buy an outdoor antenna. Here is one that I use at home:


    If you want to listen to the lower HF frequencies used for shortwave, amateaur radio, aircraft, etc. use a long wire or horizontal dipole (example 65 - 135 foot). Example: G5RV HF antenna or make your own for a few dollars!


    Use a good quality 50ohm coax. RG8x should be fine for short (<50') run.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  12. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Would tying it in to my attic OTA antenna work?
     
  13. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    6,111
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Yes, An OTA antenna is good for local UHF/VHF, but be aware that it could affect your TV reception if not isolated with a good splitter with port isolation. Make sure that if you have a powered amp that the power is not fed down to your RTL-SDR dongle. :laser
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  14. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    CN, with your lightning issues you said you have in that building, I would NOT install an old-school long wire antenna. At least I wouldn't install it outdoors.
     
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Yeah, nothing is going outdoors. I'm "lightning paranoid" now. I've got that OTA antenna working wonderfully in the attic and so I could put an additional radio antenna up there also if needed.
     
  16. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Just try to keep them at least 3 feet apart, if not a bit more.
     
  17. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    6,555
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I have a 4-way distro amp behind my TV that feeds the Edision, the TV and an HD Homerun. It says 50-900 Mhz on it, so I'm guessing I can't just run a line off of that. The Channel Master CM-7777HD filters out FM. So it sounds like I will need a completely separate antenna.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  18. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,906
    Likes Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    You could tap off your antenna BEFORE the preamp connection. Try a good 2 way splitter. Feed the antenna into the splitters input with a short coax. Then on the outputs of the splitter, connect one side to the preamp running to all your other stuff.

    Run a separate coax from the other (unpowered/unamplified) leg down to the SDR dongle.

    IF you have enough signal, it shouldn't hurt your other stuff all that much. It's different for everybody, so you can try and see what happens. At worst it won't work well, and you'll waste some time trying it out, and then putting it back to normal.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  19. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14,917
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Bear in mind that a lot of HF radio is vertically polarized so the antennas aren't well-suited to attic installation.
     
  20. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    6,111
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Actually, repeaters on VHF/UHF are traditionally vertically polarized, traditionally was done for simplified mobile antenna applications. Most HF antennas used for shortwave broadcasts and amateur radio are horizontally polarized. Point to point HF/VHF/UHF signals tend to be horizontal polarized as the base noise level is usually much lower with horizontally polarized antennas.

    Many radio hobbyists living is suburbia have small lot sizes and are limited to a vertical antennas. They must deal with significantly higher base noise levels than if they were able to install a horizontal polarized antenna. For example, at my home the noise floor is 2 S-units higher with a vertical antenna than a horizontal antenna.

    A long wire or a loop antenna that is installed inside the attic will be fine for HF reception. You may find that chargers, power supplies, monitors, printers, etc. may cause interference and a higher noise floor with an antenna located so close to your home electronics.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...