Primestar lnb vs. Invacom

Status
Please reply by conversation.

swampman

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 22, 2006
South Louisiana
OK guys, looking for some input. My 1.0 meter Primestar(round) has the original lnb(0.7 db noise I think.) I'm curious as to how much of a differnce I will see if I switch to the Invacom(0.3 db). I'm currently pulling in about 16 "constant on" English channels along with 2-3 intermittant English channels on G10R with my setup. I know this sounds a bit picky, but I'm curious if anyone else out there is having better luck using a similar 1.0 meter with the Invacom.

Also, if I choose to get the Invacom, is it better to get just the lnb... or the lnb with the integrated feedhorn thus making a complete changeout?

And lastly, what brings in better signal improvement, an upgrade of the lnb, or an upgrade to say... a 1.2 meter dish? I know I'm throwig alot out there but Any input is appreciated. :) Thanks.

Last edited:
As an old engine builder, i believe "there is no replacement for displacement", ie: you wont be able to beat getting a larger dish. While a lower noise figure LNB might help those signals, it is not going to give you as much improvement as a larger dish will.

If you do decide to get the Invacom LNB, I would get the lnb that will match up to the Primestar feedhorn. That feedhorn is optimized for that dish for maximum signal gathering.

IMO swapping to the Invacom (GOLD SPONSOR here) will really help with those weaker signals and feeds! It did for me :)

I've read that the stability on those Primestar LNB's is very good. You have to take into account the stability also when choosing. This is like trying to say one computer is better than another just because the processor runs at a faster clock speed. There are other factors involved.