Splitting the OTA antenna signal to 2nd TV

okaydave

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jul 1, 2004
What type of signal degration would I have if I split my OTA signal to a 2nd TV? Is there a better splitter than the cheap ones. I know Monster has one that is 2GHZ and $20. Is it worth the price?

I am no expert in this, but my understanding is that pretty much any two-way splitter will cut the signal... in half! ;)
("half" being -3dB...)

well the way it is if you have a two way it reduces the signal 3db meaning if you have ten db on the line you will have 7 db for each line of the splitter. You have no need for a 2 ghz splitter. You will only need a, 5-900 mghz splitter.

leomarion said:
well the way it is if you have a two way it reduces the signal 3db meaning if you have ten db on the line you will have 7 db for each line of the splitter. You have no need for a 2 ghz splitter. You will only need a, 5-900 mghz splitter.

If the signal is reduces 3db, will that affect pic quality on a digital channel?
Or if it being digital, i will eithier get it or not get it?

okaydave said:
If the signal is reduces 3db, will that affect pic quality on a digital channel?
Or if it being digital, i will eithier get it or not get it?

okaydave,