Tivo Series 2 recording 2 shows at once

Status
Please reply by conversation.

draggotherussian

Original poster
Mar 11, 2009
utah
Hey Guys

I have been trying to find info on recording two shows at once with my tivo series 2 dvr with directv. Is this possible? I have been getting mixed answers. The guy that installed my satellite said that I could with a switch and some other stuff, but my internet searches have told me its not possible. I am a newbie and don't understand this stuff. Could someone give me some answers or point me to a thread that has them.

Thanks

Draggo

is this just a tivo brand dvr and not a directv model tivo. if so then you will need a second directv reciever connected to the tivo for the second input

Hey Guys

I have been trying to find info on recording two shows at once with my tivo series 2 dvr with directv. Is this possible? I have been getting mixed answers. The guy that installed my satellite said that I could with a switch and some other stuff, but my internet searches have told me its not possible. I am a newbie and don't understand this stuff. Could someone give me some answers or point me to a thread that has them.

Thanks

Draggo

:welcome to the site

If the Tivo is a Directivo then you can record 2 by just setting them to record and it will do it, otherwise you will have to get a Directivo.

Hooking up a second DTV receiver will NOT allow you to record 2 shows at once on a Dual Tuner Series 2 TiVo. It only has one digital tuner in it (the other is analog). You can only record one one satellite channel at a time.

So my best bet is selling the Tivo series2 and buying a Directivo? A Directivo will record two digital signals at once? Can I keep my same contract with Tivo or will I need to change that?

So my best bet is selling the Tivo series2 and buying a Directivo? A Directivo will record two digital signals at once? Can I keep my same contract with Tivo or will I need to change that?