What do you use for GPS in the car and are you happy with it?

stanleyjohn

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 25, 2010
south/central Ct,USA
My Toyoya Prius came with a built in GPS back in 2006 and it works well 99% of the time.Thinking of upgrading the maps soon but i have heard a map upgrade (DVD)from Toyota is very expensive unless i can find it eslewhere and upgrade it myself.I just bought my wife a Magellan Roadmate 3120-mu for xmas and will install that for her soon.Read mixed reviews on this but it was on sale for less than $80 so with money tight this year decided to give it a try.

I use a garmin nuvi. Love the device except the keyboard. The touch screen is horrible.

Sent from my iPad using SatelliteGuys

My Town Car came with a built in navigation system and i sometimes use my GPS on my Android. I'm about to upgrade the sound system in the car and purchased a JVC that also has navigation built in (upgrades are free). I've been using GPS for about 6 years now. it's great and makes things easier but getting used to it has made me a little dumb when it comes to directions. i used to be great at it but i've become too dependent on the navigation system.

Garmin makes the best. Get one with lifetime maps. I'm not a fan of getting one built into the car because you end up overpaying for it, and you can't transfer it to another vehicle like if you rent one for vacations etc.

I just use the TomTom app on my iPhone. Very happy with it! (In fact, I have been using TomTom apps for years on 3 different phones.) It's always with me, no need to carry another GPS device when I travel, map updates are easy and free. You can also subscribe to traffic updates if need to.

Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys