Please reply by conversation.

montana16

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
May 24, 2015
Rochester
Hello all.
I am new to the C band world but been in the KU world for years. I am also new to this site. So far it has been very useful and full of information and I thank you all for that.Sorry for the lengthy post.

Here is my question and the long paragraph after will give you more info on how I got there (if you choose to read it.)

After getting my dish aligned, the furthest west I can go is 133.0w hitting a mechanical limit. Actuator arm is all the way retracted. I know there are a few more further out, 135 and 137. I have about 3 inches between the actuator arm saddle bracket and the end of the outer shaft. Can I move the actuator arm closer to gain a few degrees on the dish?
Boot.jpg

(My thumb is where the outer shaft ends)

I picked up a 10 ft fiberglass dish a couple weeks ago. It is very old but seems to work.
Dish.jpg

I got the 4 inch pole in the ground and mounted the dish with some help.
Mount.jpg

I had to order a dish mover (vbox7,which is junk in my opinion) so I couldn't do any alignment until it was delivered. I got it a week ago and it didn't work right from the start. The connections on the back broke as soon as I put wires into the speaker clip jacks but I managed to make a connection. Once I was able to get power to motor, to my amazement, the dish moved to the west! Unfortunately, the button on top of the box to move it east didn't work. Luckily the remote control did work. I immediately was going to point the dish to south to begin alignment but the east movement with remote lasted about 4 clicks. So I thought the actuator arm was stuck or something or the motor was dead. I tried west and the motor worked and arm moved. Tried east again but nothing. I was looking for a reason to tear the actuator apart anyway because I was curious how it worked.
Actuator.jpg