any chance for a new dual tuner ota dongle?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by bnewt, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    What happens when your receiver has trouble connecting to the OTA signal? Do you get a message on the screen similar to the one described in the following link? One tuner of dual OTA adapter keeps going “dead.” - Page 4 - mydish communities - 12560
    "When selecting an OTA ch most of the time it would come up with an error message saying
    OTA CHANNEL SIGNAL LOSS 739
    ATTEMPTING TO GET SIGNAL
    signal level would be 80-100 and would say SIGNAL OKAY
    the circle in the middle of the message would go around and around as if it was trying to find a signal even though it says signal level okay."

    If so, that is a known software issue. Interestingly, I have never seen the 739 message on either a Hopper Duo or a Wally, which makes me wonder if that is only a Hopper 3 thing.

    I have no idea what is making the channels disappear, though. Is it just individual channels that disappear at random, or do all of the OTA channels disappear at once when this happens?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    At first it was only happening to 10.1 (real VHF Fox) not all the time. Get the circle in the middle like it's trying to get a signal but signal level would be at Strong. Been doing that for a week or so. I did a rescan which then 10.1 came in and 15.1 (real UHF ABC) did the same as 10.1 was doing before. Just last night is when the channels started going away at random, only 1. First was 12.1 (real VHF NBC) which was working when I started watching the football game. Changed channels during a commercial. When I hit the previous channel key it went to a program that wasn't the football game. I inputted the channel manually with the same result. Went to guide and 12.1 had gone away. Went from 10.1 to 15.1 and didn't pass go. Switched to the TV's turner for the rest of the game. Afterwards I did a rescan. All channels came up. All were saved into the guide. All worked as they should. This morning went to the DVR to start the watching CBS Morning News on 5.1 (UHF 17 CBS) and there was no recording. Pulled up the guide and there was no 5.1 which had been there after the rescan the night before. That's when I pulled the AirTV tuner and replaced it with my old Dish tuner. Just waiting to see if there are any similar experiences. I'll contact the AirTV folks on Wednesday to see about a warranty replacement. Sounds like it's my module unless we start getting some Me to's.
     
  3. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    593
    Likes Received:
    460
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    Even if the OTA signal was bad (too weak or too strong) the channel should still show up in the Guide. If the channel is disappearing from the Guide something else is wrong. WCSN is a low power channel with 8 total channels. Depending on atmospheric conditions I don’t always receive them but they always show up in the Guide.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    crodrules likes this.
  4. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I know it's pretty strange. We'll see what happens with the old Dish tuner, see if the problem goes away or if it's still there. AirTV has been working GREAT since October until here recently. Go Figure :-(
     
  5. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    After giving it some more thought, it occurred to me that I had seen a disappearing channels issue before, although it was many years ago, on ViP receivers. In that case, any OTA channels without guide info (and all subchannels, whether they had guide info or not) would disappear from the guide after the nightly reset. A rescan was necessary to bring them back. If I rebooted the receiver for any reason, those channels would disappear again. That issue eventually got fixed, though. I wonder if something similar is happening in Niv's case.
     
  6. ouch1234

    ouch1234 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Norman, Ok
  7. ouch1234

    ouch1234 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Norman, Ok
    Will the AirTV work with the Hopper 3?
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Sold $40 on Ebay
     
    ouch1234 likes this.
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Yes
     
    ouch1234 likes this.
  10. ouch1234

    ouch1234 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Norman, Ok
    Thanks I just made an order.
     
    comfortably_numb and thomasjk like this.
  11. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    Finally got around taking out amp (post 574) to see if ota worked any better but then I lost one of my channels. I get almost all with a 90+ signal except my fox which is the furthest away and that one tries to connect at about 66/70. Maybe I need just a small amp so as to get that one channel a little better; currently using 15 yr old CM 7777 which puts out 30 db gain (or did new). Any recommendations or suggestions would be appreciated..


    Also how do you change your profile so I'm not using my name here; never had it show up on any other forum.
     
  12. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Try the CM7777HD. It has "high" and "low" gain settings (17dB / 30dB) which you can toggle between. It's a mighty dependable beast which gets me all the locals and low-powered channels from Kansas City, which is 45-50 miles from here, as the crow flies.



    IMG_0062.JPG IMG_0063.JPG
     
  13. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    What ever I get will have to be mtd at tower base or in house; can't climb tower no more, too old.
     
  14. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    If you have any cell towers near you, you might consider Clear Stream's Juice PA. It has a LTE filter. LTE can screw with your signal. It's worked great for me.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  15. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    I have a cell tower SW of me about 2 mi but my ant (CM 4228) is pointed SSE and currently fixed since I believe lightning or woodpecker has killed rotor.
     
  16. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    The CM7777HD also has LTE filtering :)

    I can attest to the fact that it works as I literally have a VZW cell tower right behind my house

    2AA2385C-357E-4146-935B-5514CB8BBBE1.png
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    If your cell phone is picking up a LTE signal it can interfere, doesn't matter if your antenna is pointed in the direction of the cell tower. Cell towers are omni directional.
     
  18. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    If the cell tower is causing lte interference then why did it not cause it for the past 30 yrs. I have never had any distortion until connected to the module and to hopper. I can disconnect and run straight to tvs and no pix.; so do you still think it may be lte.
     
  19. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    LTE interferance wouldn't cause a complete blackout just occasional breakups. As far as the past 30 years, LTE hasn't been around but a few years some places still don't have it. Also it only interferes with digital signals not the old analog of yesteryears. I attribute all antenna signal problems to the Sock Fairy. If you could find all those socks that have been lost in the dryer you'd probably have a perfect broadcast signal :)
     
  20. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    I realize the lte is recent problems but as stating when connected directly to tvs via the rg6 then no pix but when I go through module to hoppen then get pix. Also it's currently not bad enough to go back to switching from dish to antenna inputs but do you think it could still be lte or maybe a faulty module.

    Anyone else getting small distortion or breakup. thanks
     
    #600 Bruce Allen Dew, Jan 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2019

Separate names with a comma.

More...