any chance for a new dual tuner ota dongle?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by bnewt, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    AirTV is a good company, they back their products. They emailed a prepaid UPS return label, will ship out a replacement when they receive the defective unit. I hope I haven't jumped the gun with praise before they've shipped out the replacement but I don't think so. At the very least I was expecting to have to pay the return shipping. I'll let you know the turn around time. Defective unit went out on 1/11/19, expected delivery is Tue 15th. They even sent a 2 day delivery label (went out on Fri so you've got the weekend to contend with) not a slow boat to China label. So far so good.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  2. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Wanderer
    AirTV is DISH.
     
  3. Niv

    Niv SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    "Soylent Green is people!" :)
     
  4. Bruce Allen Dew

    Bruce Allen Dew Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fl
    If airtv is dish they really don't own up to it. Tried to get info as to why getting pixallation using the airtv dongle with hopper and they said they had nothing to do with dish and their dongle was not intended to be used with the hopper, not very nice.
     
  5. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    Because AirTV does not support the Hopper. That is Dish's responsibility. The dual tuner adapters are made by the same company but are in different wrappers. They both use the same firmware.
     
  6. Falcon195

    Falcon195 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Ohio
    [QUOTE=" The dual tuner adapters are made by the same company but are in different wrappers. They both use the same firmware.[/QUOTE]
    How do you know this for sure ?
     
    crodrules likes this.
  7. reubenray

    reubenray Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Will the AirTv dongle work with the Hopper 3 or not?
     
  8. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,260
    Likes Received:
    6,545
    Location:
    USA
    Yes and no. :)

    Yes, folks here say it works fine.

    No, you won't get any support for it from DISH and if they decide to make it not work through a software download sometime in the future it would be their prerogative.
     
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,361
    Likes Received:
    10,391
    Location:
    Northern VA
    BINGO! A s/w update could kill the utility of the AirTV dongle for Dish.

    Alert the conspiracy theorists. Maybe a sneaky way of selling AirTV dongles, and then selling Dish dongles to the same customers.

    Excuse me, a black helicopter is landing outside.

    Doesn’t the AirTV dongle work with HWSes? Today, that is?

    ;)

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I've been waiting for that black helicopter since the first time I ever "moved" my service address :D
     
    dare2be, charlesrshell and crodrules like this.
  11. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,418
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    I figure if I spray paint my white OTA adapter black it will still work after Dish disables the white ones.
     
  12. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,147
    Likes Received:
    3,337
    Location:
    Sol 3
    Well, that information was sourced from a pretty good authority - the owner of this site. See posts #126, 140, 163, & 166.
     
    dweber, charlesrshell and DWS44 like this.
  13. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    96,504
    Likes Received:
    11,286
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I am told its not going to happen. :)
     
  14. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    Bingo! That is why Dish is deploying the black helicopters. They are filled with black spray paint to repaint all of the AirTV dongles black. Problem solved!
     
  15. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,418
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Is this white dongle envy or white dongle privilege.
     
  16. ScottChez

    ScottChez SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    96
    For Omaha the list is for OTA is correct. Confirmed by executive support. I wont switch back to Dish unless my favs like Comet and H&I have guide data.
    H&I has tons of star trek every night, Comet has Space 1999 and many other old space sci fi shows. I am in to that type of programming so maybe it is just me.
    METV has GUide data, it has some also.
    Really I want all my free OTA local and DIsh only caries the big 5.
     
  17. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    So which provider do you have now? Directv doesn't even give you the option to use your own OTA signal anymore. I'll take access to all the channels I can get OTA and deal with the lack of guide data on a few of them.
     
    dare2be and crodrules like this.
  18. dishdude

    dishdude SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    12,618
    Likes Received:
    18,934
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I don't think Dish is worried about selling hardware, they're in the recurring revenue business.
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  19. dishdude

    dishdude SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    12,618
    Likes Received:
    18,934
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Good would be sending out the replacement first.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  20. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    I don't know, but once you go black, you never go back.
     
    dishdude and comfortably_numb like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...