1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Blacked Out Channels

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by wvman, May 28, 2019.

  1. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    After the Luken MUX moved to Eutelsat 113 I had something weird happen to some of the channels. After watching them for a while, I began to notice some of the channels were no longer coming in, like KMCC Action, KRFT and several others. They have a great signal (90/82), but no audio or video and none of them are showing up encrypted.

    I had them all until they moved to a different satellite. So far, I've re-scanned the channels, deleted all the transponders and did a blind scan, and even played with the frequency. Nothing I've done helps. Any suggestions? Out of all the channels like KRFT only a couple come on. Any ideas? Not even sure why I lost them. :(
     
  2. Arion

    Arion SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    Likes Received:
    153
    First thing I do when that happens is to do a rescan in case the pid's or other info in the program map table changed.
     
  3. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    I already did that several times. I even deleted all the channels and transponders, didn't help.
     
  4. zack

    zack SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    texas

    Same thing here, Wvman! I even uhooked my Linkbox and tried an Openbox. The Openbox made no difference!

    Hopefully someone here can explain it to us!

    Zack

    PS

    10 foot mesh dish, Titanium Asc1 dish mover, Norsat C band lnb, and a skew motor
     
  5. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Not sure what's going on. I have an H-265 receiver, so it can't be that. Whatever they're doing it could replace standard encryption methods. :(
     
  6. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Is the OS MIO receiving all the channels in the Luken MUX or are some of them just black screen and no audio like the problem some of us are having?
     
    #6 wvman, May 29, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2019
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,193
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    The PAT (Program Association Table) is showing services that have no active data. Your receiver is being told that services exist that are not being transmitted. The Luken mux has many services defined that are not active.

    Examples:
    • KMCC Action #28 - The channel is defined in the table, but the channel is not being transmitted.
    • KFRT #32 - The channel is defined in the table, but the channel is not being transmitted.
    The OS Mio 4k is receiving all active services on the Luken mux.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  8. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Just curious. Where do you get this kind of information? There's not many questions you can't answer. I was completely unaware that these channels were inactive. I'm am kind of curious as to why they would bother identifying an inactive channel when no programming is transmitted. I'd love to have access to some of the resources you have.

    It would be useful to access information regarding FEC's for certain channels, which could be handy when identifying certain problems with reception. You're a wealth of information. :D
     
  9. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,193
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    For this information, I used a TBS 6983 PCIe tuner and TS Reader software. I compared the transmitted table information with the amount of data transmitted on the associated PIDs.

    With these inactive services, you will observe no data throughput on the PIDs that are supposed to be carrying video and audio.

    Many transponder tables contain incorrect or are missing information. Occassionally, this is done on purpose (example: poorman's encryption to prevent consumer receivers from logging services). More typical, it is due to error, inept or lazy engineers. Why do housekeeping today when it can be put off until mañana? What does it matter that the time reference is incorrect? Why should the table provide satellite information? Who cares if the table doesn't meet DVB standards? It works for our downlinks...
     
    #9 Titanium, May 30, 2019
    Last edited: May 30, 2019
    c-spand, wvman and phlatwound like this.
  10. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Will the Tuner and TS reader work properly with Windows 7 Professional?
     
  11. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,193
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Yes, works fine with Win10.

    I typo'd and fixed the model TBS 6983.
     
    wvman likes this.
  12. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    42N 103W
    In case you haven't heard, Windows 7 is EOL in January 2020. Windows 7 End of Support
     
  13. wvman

    wvman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    I'm aware of that. I'm not looking forward to upgrading to the newer version of windows. I hate the interface and may switch to a Linux based OS. I'm tired of playing Microsoft's games. I like MAC computers and already have a couple in mind. I also have a couple Windows 10 computers in the back room that need some minor work to put them back in service. Trade-ins. In any case, Windows 7 won't stop working overnight. :biggrin
     
  14. c-spand

    c-spand SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    N. California
    Hi Titanium. Can the PIDS be manual entered into the dreamset edit section? Thank you/ Tony
     
  15. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,193
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Which PIDs and services?

    Are asking if we can add PIDs to receive these "blacked out" Luken channels? No, because the channels exist in name only and no audio or video PIDs are active.

    If asking if we can enter PIDs for services that are transmitted, but not logged by receivers during scans because the tables are incorrect? Yes. Example: The Mood music channels on 103w must have the APIDs for each service maually entered as the services are are not defined in the PAT.
     
    c-spand and primestar31 like this.
  16. c-spand

    c-spand SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    N. California
    Thanks
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...