Help with new C band dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rrob311

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 25, 2010
New England
I bought a 12 foot Com-tech Portable dish. I am lost as how to setup the Feedhorn and LNBs on it. There is a cover on the front of the feedhorn and on the side. It looks like you can bolt LNBs to both covers. There is also a couple of gears. Is this to adjust Skew? I am also not sure how to set the elevation. I would like to point it at 87w, 91w, or 135w. I know how to setup Ku dishes but I am new to C-band. I already have the mount level on it. Does anyone have any recommendations on which LNB to buy? There is no motor control for this.

satfull.jpgsat lnbs.jpgsatfeed.jpegsathorn.jpg

rrob311 said:
I bought a 12 foot Com-tech Portable dish. I am lost as how to setup the Feedhorn and LNBs on it. There is a cover on the front of the feedhorn and on the side. It looks like you can bolt LNBs to both covers. There is also a couple of gears. Is this to adjust Skew? I am also not sure how to set the elevation. I would like to point it at 87w, 91w, or 135w. I know how to setup Ku dishes but I am new to C-band. I already have the mount level on it. Does anyone have any recommendations on which LNB to buy? There is no motor control for this.

Where the covers are you install cband lnbs.

This feed horn gives you both H and V polarities.

I've not seen the gears before but would guess and agree this is for skew, kinda cool!

rrob311 said:

"portable dish" LOL!

Can't see the back side of the dish, but I'll bet there's a place you can stick in inclinometer.
I wouldn't want to take a 12' board up the middle on the front side, just to check the elevation. :)
The mount being plumb may not really matter much for fixed operation (more critical if you're motorized).

That knob below the feed looks like your skew.
Maybe you pull down on the lanyard, then twist the knob half a turn at a time (?)