Need help for a new FTA setup. Winegard 3100 Stab 100 Viewsat2000 ultra

Status
Please reply by conversation.

GreatNorth

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
Greetings everyone.

Just got this equipment and I am trying to get up&running.

Current localisation is 45.3N, 72.5W. Invacom qph-031.

Did try a few thing, but I am a complete newbie on fta. Did read more than a bit, but didn't understand it all.

Setup the pole, plumb and straigth. Attached the motor at 45° as specified in the manual. Using USALS.

How do I proceed from here ?

Unsure about the inclination of the antenna. Unsure about my true south bird.

Unsure about a lot of thing...

Crying on the roof :)

Please be specific, I will do my best to understand.

Tried an inclination of 23° on the antenna. Trying to get to sbs6 or amc6 without success. Signal strength is about 60. Quality is 0 :(
What I am missing ?

What information should I enter in the usals screen in order to get a signal ?

What should I do ? Hang on the roof :(

Last edited:
First try to hit a satellite without the motor, that will give you a good idea of how to aim the dish (it's MUCH harder than a DirecTV or Dish Network dish since the signals are weaker). Use VERY small movements of the dish, then back out and see if you have any change in your signal reading before moving the dish again. Also, be sure to tune to a live transponder (one with something on it that's not dead) when looking at your quality meter, and only look for quality. Strength means nothing.

Ice compiled a nice list of live/hot transponders on all the popular birds.

I read a Stab PDF on tuning up their HH-90, and I'm sure they have a similar document for the -100.
The setup does seem too simple, but I believe it's correct.

Mounting and setting up the motor sets your real elevation.

After all the offsets are added and subtracted, what used to be the elevation on your antenna, really becomes your declination.