new edision os mio 4k issues

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by johnnynobody, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,412
    Likes Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I use Vix and have no issues with NTP time sync. I set it to sync every 30 minutes.
     
    raydio and primestar31 like this.
  2. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    Right now, my osmio-4k with OpenVIX firmware is showing 2218 when the actual time is 1630. Sometimes the time is correct, sometimes not.
     
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,421
    Likes Received:
    6,702
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Maybe the time server that is referenced? Try a different NTP server or change reference to satellite than back to network? Any reason that your network might be blocking NTP server?

    I also haven't had any NTP issues on any image including OpenVIX.

    I really like the 12hr Am/Pm option on OpenVIX!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  4. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    It was setup for pool.ntp.org but I changed it to us.pool.ntp.org which is what my routers are using.
     
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,198
    Likes Received:
    4,474
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Is there any reason that couldn't be added to the next release of NA SatDreamGr image?

    Also, Johnny (and others) make SURE you have your time settings set like this, or it can drift off after REBOOTS (until the time you set to auto resync) The "NTP cold start" and "Use RTC time from Deep Standby" are the most important ones MIO_SystemTime_Settings_20190219172706.jpg :
     
    norman881 likes this.
  6. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    The NTP sever change didn't fix the problem. There are other NTP servers that I can try but my routers don't have any trouble with us.pool.ntp.org. And only OpenVIX is having trouble with time sync. OpenSPA, TNAP, and OpenDroid don't have a time sync problem. I'm trying north-america.pool.ntp.org now.
     
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,421
    Likes Received:
    6,702
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Did you reboot after each change of the settings?

    Did it happen after an OpenVIX update? We could check if running different builds. Odd that OpenVIX is keeping NTP referenced time on a few of our systems running OpenVIX, but not yours.

    Any discussions of a similar issue on the OpenVIX image forums?
     
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,198
    Likes Received:
    4,474
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    He's located in Nebraska. Isn't there a bug or something in Mountain Time zone setting, and you are supposed to select a different one that's compatible, South America or something I read here?
     
  9. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    Yes. I did a reboot. There was a firmware update but it didn't fix the problem. Right now it shows 1927 but the correct time is 2058. The time jumps all over the place but only with OpenVIX. I haven't posted to other forums yet.
     
  10. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,421
    Likes Received:
    6,702
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I would first review the OpenVIX forum .

    Does the time issue change if TP is changed? Also, if TP mode is selected? I'm wondering if the image is referencing the TP time rather than NTP even if switched?

    My suggestion would be: Back-up OpenVIX, then load a fresh image without restoring. Does the problem happen on a fresh install? If not, apply your OpenVIX restore and test again. Could narrow it down th o your settings vs default image.
     
  11. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I knew that if I messed around I'd mess up my box. I can't get out of the OpenSPA image. I selected a different image from the multiboot menu but it just keeps booting to OpenSPA.
     
    #91 johnnynobody, Jun 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  12. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,412
    Likes Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Most of Nebraska is Central Time ;)

    Same here with Kansas; only a small sliver of the western part of Kansas is MT.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  13. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I'm in the western part of Nebraska which is in the mountain time zone. I'm not sure why you posted the above comment.
     
  14. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I'm beginning to wonder if I need to re-install the bootloader or send the STB in for repair.

    I tried the procedure in post#24 of thread Mio Boot Help! using the satdreamgr image to see if it would help fix my problem but nothing changed and I end up rebooting to OpenSPA every time. I can get out of OpenSPA by selecting the slot for OpenDroid but it still brings up a screen about new firmware for OpenSPA before starting OpenDroid. Something got corrupted.
     
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,412
    Likes Received:
    7,604
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Is it not true that most of Nebraska is Central Time?
     
  16. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    Yes. About 2/3, maybe 3/4, is CT.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  17. raydio

    raydio K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    844
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    I just joined this thread...but this seems like a simple fix. Just delete the OpenSPA image from that slot...Do an actual delete, don't just re-install an image over that image. I don't know what you have in your other slots, but I would delete everything that is giving me heartburn and start over. I also run Vix with no clock or time issues. However, I set no timers or do any recording.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  18. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I haven't figured out how to do that yet. I understand that multiboot can be edited/modified with telnet or ssh or filezilla or whatever but I haven't found instructions on how to do that just yet. When I ssh when booted into OpenSPA, I can see several executables in /boot that are obviously for images but I'm not sure if I can delete all of them or just the last 3 without causing un-recoverable problems. This fiasco began when I deleted OpenVIX in an effort to re-install it to see if it would fix the time sync issue. It's been downhill since then. The other installed images are TNAP, OpenSPA, empty slot (was OpenVIX), OpenDroid.
     
  19. raydio

    raydio K4ECP Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    844
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    How did you delete Vix? Via ssh?
     
  20. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    42N 103W
    No. I deleted the slot/image from TNAP GUI. I can longer access TNAP now.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...