Ubuntu

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

KE4EST

SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
Original poster
Staff member
HERE TO HELP YOU!
Lifetime Supporter
Aug 9, 2004
EM75xb
I have been experimenting with Ubuntu for a couple of months now and so far like it, but I see I have a learning curve to go since I don't use it everyday.

I need someone to tell me very simply a couple things. Years ago when I actually wrote programs in early C and Quick and Visual Basic I ran Linux a lot. I got away from it and got lazy. I have been Googleing and still not getting what I want. Here is what I want to know right now.

I am running firefox 11 for Ubuntu, I downloaded firefox 13 beta and now want to install it, but that seems harder than I thought or I am just going crazy. When I click the download it takes me to the archive manager. I can see a lot files but now matter what I click I get no where. So if someone is up on this stuff kindly explain what I need to do. I know it is not as dumbed down as windows 7 is so....where you just click install and yes and next and done.

You don't say which version of Ubuntu you're using. I'm on 10.04, and to get past firefox 3.x, I had to add a special repository for firefox. I use the stable one, but I know you can do the beta channel too.

Look here. Even though it mentions Firefox 5, the instructions will put you on the beta stream, which will get you the most current beta. It will also help keep you up to date with the most current beta.

It is version 11.x I will go through those instructions when I have more time...Thanks.