Voom vs. Direct sucks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

InSync

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jul 2, 2004
I have had Voom for three days now and I must say they have fallen down on every aspect from sales to installation and finally delivery of a great picture. I will not dwell on any of the prior installation difficulties and will concentrate on the actulal quality of the image delivered. I am a photographer and videographer by trade so I think I am aware of a quality image when I see one. I have a Pioneer Elite tv that has been tweeked to the exception and all the electronics and speakers that any audiophile would be proud of to have back it up. That said I was a Direct TV customer and was lured away by Voom with all of the extra HD channels and a promise of higher quality by a satellite "built from the ground up for HDTV". The HD of Voom is not anywhere close to the quality and clarity of Direct. The resolution is not there, the color saturation is not as accurate. I was using the DVI hookup and found I had a slightly better picture when I used Progressive. I called Voom and they walked me through an update but that did nothing. I have the latest box that started shipping 7/01/04. I went into the "back door" to check the resolution and I got a picture for the 1081 that was "jumpy", filled with static and the last four blocks to the right of the screen that measure resolution had no discernable resolution lines. I was told by Voom that their quality should be better than Direct. I suggested that the Voom IRD may be bad and should be replaced but, Voom says to just leave it in SAT mode at night for 4-5 days and it should clear up. Any thoughts?

I don't have any suggestions but I'm curious about the "back door" you found on the box. Is it a service menu in the voom receiver? I'm an avid tinkerer and would love to see what's in the voom service menu or any secret menu if anyone can tell me how to get into it.