What Are the Benefits of the Mio Over Other Receivers?

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by N6BY, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. N6BY

    N6BY Topic Starter Geek Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    Roseville, CA 121W
    It seems that this receiver is quite complex to use. (I don't have one so I am just going by what I'm reading). What are the primary benefits of the Mio over the older, non-Linux boxes?
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    It's really not complex. There is a learning curve, but if one starts with Brian's image first, then branch out into other images, then you discover this receiver is more feature-rich and capable than any other STB out there. It really is an amazing device.
     
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    N6BY, It's like owning an Android phone. It can either operate like vanilla out of the box and you can enjoy all of the features and functions like with a standard cell phone

    OR

    you can add skins, apps, unlock and change almost every process of the device.

    Yesterday, I talked with someone that I consider an advanced satellite hobbyist and found that he only has used the default TNAP image, has no desire to try another image; yet, loves the STB. It really is up to the user to decide how they want to use the Mio 4k. :)
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Advantages of the OS MIO 4K for me:

    Over-the-air adapter integration with EPG;
    Fast blindscan;
    Ability to tune frequencies most other appliance STB can not;
    Reliable DVR with ability to connect very large HDD;
    Ability to remotely program the STB via telnet apps;
    Access to the STB via web gateway over your network

    Any many more.
     
  5. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    It is somewhat complex but so are computers and smartphones. It is a substantial improvement over other STB's. The mio has allowed me to eliminate some cabling. I "like" to do fancy stuff that tends to make my life more complicated. But, it seems that most of the recent STB's seem to have time sync issues, including the mio and especially the Android based STB's. Maintaining the correct time is important for recording via time (unattended recording). I don't understand why such an important feature tends to be ignored.
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I do not understand this claim. I run OpenVIX with a 30-minute time sync and my receiver's time has always been accurate.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  7. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I have installed 8 different images (including OpenVIX) and not one of them have had an issue with keeping accurate time with the NTP server.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  8. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Me neither, time is accurate to the second if syncing to the NTP servers. If he'd only take me off ignore, and see my post on how to make his settings, he'd not have any issues with just about everything he's brought up.

    However, some people insist on learning the hard way, and there's nothing wrong with that, as long as they actually LEARN while doing so.
     
  9. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Agree.
     
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    A self-inflicted ordeal.
     
  11. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    The TNAP required a workaround for Denver/MT time zone so I don't know how you can make such a claim.
     
  12. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    No need to start a flame war over this.
     
  13. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    What are you talking about? What work around?

    Edit: Changes the dialog when the original post that I replied to has been edited after my post... :(
     
    #13 Titanium, Jun 6, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
  14. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Connecticut
    working fine for me with the TNAP image, and I have not changed anything in regards to time sync.

    Now, many other receivers don't have NTP time sync, simply because they are made for markets where that is not as important as it is for us. The average European user, and that's whom most receivers are marketed to (also probably many markets in Africa and Asia), will usually receive services that are intended for the home user. Those transponders carry accurate time, and the receiver uses that. Those of us in the Eastern US can see such service on 34.5W, aimed at the French Caribbean islands. The time on those is accurate. I think we also get accurate time on the PBS mux on 125W.
    But most other services in North America are not intended for reception by home receivers and the engineers could not care less about proper time config, that's not important to them. Hence the need for other time sync solutions for our receivers.
     
    Titanium and comfortably_numb like this.
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,306
    Likes Received:
    7,453
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Now I'm on his block list too! :crowdbounce
     
  16. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    He's probably talking about his Mountain Time setting. Doesn't/didn't that have a bug in it? That's the only one I know about, and I've done everything with this receiver.

    Rock solid now, and boy have I learned! LOL
     
    Titanium likes this.
  17. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I had to use a Mexican TZ in order to get the correct time. It's suppose to be a known bug.
     
    Titanium likes this.
  18. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Broke a bunch of posts off to a new thread!
     
    N6BY, Titanium and Brct203 like this.
  19. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Alright guys, let's not nip at each other. Some learn at different paces!
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  20. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,332
    Likes Received:
    6,505
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Yes, you are correct. One selection for Mountain Time zone in all OpenPLI based images WAS causing the time to reset to UTC if the STB was powered off.

    Yes, the "workaround", select another region in the same time zone. This was an image issue that had existed in ALL OpenPLi based images for several years, but not an issue specific to the Mio 4k hardware. The great thing about E2 images, the problem was identified and fixed, unlike dozens of appliance STBs that never have much more serious issues fixed. No, I never have experienced any time error, because I live in the Pacific time zone, and frankly, since a fix was released, had forgotten about it.

    OpenPli corrected this several months ago and updating images were corrected. El Bandidio will be including the update in his next TNAP release.

    Is the time correct on the updated image(s) that you have currently installed?
     
    #20 Titanium, Jun 6, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
    KE4EST and primestar31 like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...