GEOSATpro HDVR3500 - New DVBS2 STB - Photos and Initial Testing

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Titanium, Jul 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. . Raine

    . Raine SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    940
    Location:
    North America, CT.
    Some of the unreleased firmwares were that size, 120 mb. The released ones were in the 40's mb size.
     
  2. skysurfer

    skysurfer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    42
    i'm having no luck trying to install 1213 from my current 1152. The internet download stops about 40% (as previously reported) and when I do the USB stick thing using the front port USB, there is a "download" error message and immediately reboots back to a normal 1152 operation. I've done at least 3 updates via USB stick so I don't think it's anything I'm doing that didn't work in the past but I"m open to suggestions if people think they may know why I'm having problems.
     
  3. jaytee4320

    jaytee4320 SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Surrey,B.C., Canada
    It would be interesting to hear from anyone who has successfully upgraded to 1213. I've had no luck via internet or usb...reverts back to 1152.
     
  4. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    We upgraded dozens of receivers, let me see the best way out of error. I will post new update shortly or will give you steps to correct error.
     
  5. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Thank you.
     
  6. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    I never realized until last night when I saw a picture of the Geosat Pro 3500 with the top cover removed that the internal drive was actually a USB thumb drive in a USB port on the main board. I've never been able to record HD programming on any brand receiver using a thumb drive and it be watchable when finished. Anyway has anyone tried removing the internal thumb drive to see how the 3500 performs recording to external HDD with Hi-Def material? Sometimes just the added voltage draw of the internal thumb drive on the motherboard could make glitches in the recording or viewing of HD source material. I think any extra voltage draw on these little receivers could cause audio/video glitches. What would a person need or want these internal drives left in there for if you can't reliably record HD programming on them?
     
  7. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    You can definitely do that. What we also have done, we put an SSD adapter on the internal port and put an SSD Drive instead of USB flash drive and found the performance to be better. But eventually, we have achieved very good recordings of one HD Stream while watching another with the internal drive in. If for some reason the drive itself is not working properly, please let me know, we will send you a replacement. We take all malfunctions seriously.

    Here are the instructions on recovering any receiver that would get "stuck" on any firmware, including third party. Our receiver is compatible with third party firmwares and it does not void warranty.

    If the receiver ever gets "stuck" on upgrades, the best way is to download the "resuscitate" firmware: http://hdvrbox.com/up/restore/usb_update.bin

    Resuscitate firmware is simply full memory size firmware that would be loaded from the USB drive holding "Up Arrow + Menu" for 10 seconds while turning the power on from the back. This basically overwrites the memory addresses that may have "glitch" on them. After "resuscitate" firmware has been loaded, update normally to latest available firmware in the Menu. It should no longer get stuck on errors like "Incorrect Ver." or 40%.

    Please let me know if it works out.
     
    dougruss likes this.
  8. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Is 1213 up tonight(wed) on Satellite Galaxy 19k? I would like to try download it via sat. Thanks.
     
  9. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    This is not going up, because i found few issues that can not be released for production. I will release the next one on sat. And i can leave it on for you (and others) when it's approved.

    Have you tried "resuscitate" software?
     
  10. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Can you tell me what size this "resusciate" file is? I think it stopped downloading before it was finished. I have 37,217kb of if?
     
  11. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    120.72Mb - that's very small file.
     
  12. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI

    I'll try it again. Thanks. Should I wait and not install 1213? It would be great if you could leave Galaxy 19 on for us Sat. Please let us know when it's up. Thanks.
     
  13. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    I will leave update on once approved for everyone. 1213 is actually quite good, but few minor things upcoming for easier management of IPTV>
     
  14. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Thanks for everything!
     
  15. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Got the "resuscitate" to wipe the receiver back to factory. Installing 1213 now.
     
  16. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    I'm running 1213. Had to download to USB key on computer and do the up arrow and menu key + rocker switch. Got it to load just fine. Will be waiting for the next update:)
     
  17. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    1213 is not telling my HDD to start recording when using the scheduler to record a program. The notice pops on the screen saying recording will start in 60 seconds, but it never starts. I have the priority set to Back and this was working for me with firmware 1152.
     
  18. dsmith0429

    dsmith0429 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Posts:
    462
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Lake Placid, FL
    I've done that. I have a 500GB external connected to mine. I unplugged and removed the 9-pin serial port from mine and ran the cable to the inside from there.
     
    SatelliteAV likes this.
  19. chadg2

    chadg2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    623
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Maiden Rock, WI
    Great Idea. Thanks.
     
  20. dsmith0429

    dsmith0429 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Posts:
    462
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Lake Placid, FL
    Here's something I found to make removing or changing the internal USB drive much easier... a 90 Degree Left Angle Adapter Plug. s-l1600.jpg
     
    SatelliteAV and chadg2 like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Separate names with a comma.

More...