New to FTA

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by NorthernOhioGuy, Sep 10, 2019.

1. NorthernOhioGuy

NorthernOhioGuy Topic Starter Member

Hello all! I am new to the FTA hobby. I actually became interested in it a few years ago. My wife, however, wanted nothing to do with it. I finally convinced her to let me put up a 90cm dish a couple months ago and tinker with it. She was surprised by the variety of channels that I could pick up off of one bird so she allowed me to get a motor.

That is my current project; setting the dish up to track the arc. I will say I lurked this forum and other sites quite a bit while I was "dreaming" about my new hobby. There is a wealth of information here, and I am sure I will have to tap into it as I go along. I hope that some day I may be able to pass it on and help another newbie out.

Thanks for all you've all taught me so far.

N5XZS, c-spand, spongella and 6 others like this.
  2. comfortably_numb

comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

Welcome NorthernOhioGuy. I grew up in Ohio before I moved West. Happy to help answer any questions.

3. primestar31

primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

Put a dual lnb on that dish, and run two coax's. Get your wife her own receiver, and let her play.

Who knows, you might get "allowed" to get a C-band dish then, LOL. FAR more stuff on C-band, than KU.

4. KE4EST

KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

5. danristheman

danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

I am from NE Indiana welcome to the site.

spongella and NorthernOhioGuy like this.
  6. spongella

spongella SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

Welcome and glad to hear that you got your dish up and running. It's like a magic carpet to tons of entertainment. Lots of bang for the buck. Enjoy.