OTA adapter on the Edision OS MIO 4K

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by comfortably_numb, Mar 11, 2019.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Received the Hauppauge 950q OTA dongle today. Installed drivers as indicated. Did auto scan. Tuner lights are on, but no channels are found.

    Currently running the OpenVIX image.
     
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Legitfta reports it working for sure on the Mio, but they didn't specify which image. Likely SatDreamGR though.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Nevermind, switched to OpenPLi and it works great. Must be a VIX image issue :)

    B04F97B2-3F7C-4350-BDB2-800F2C1A4FCB.jpeg
     
  4. raydio

    raydio K4ECP
    Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    741
    Likes Received:
    597
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Mine works on OpenVix just fine CN...but I have the 955Q
     
  5. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Let us know how the epg stuff works for it.
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    The NA Project image handles OTA pretty well. Nice PSIP integration, displays resolution, bitrate, and DD 5.1 status.

    14B3A85A-561E-4BDD-89CA-60EF801E8611.jpeg
     
  7. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Wow! That channel is pushing 14mb/s on it's .1 channel? Incredible.

    You know, I've never seen BER register anything as of yet. I wonder if that even works?
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    NA image found all available OTA channels in my area (56 total)

    And yes, KCTV and KCMO are obsessive about their bitrates, and they limit their subchannels. Very nice PQ :)

    D18C43B2-81BC-407C-B472-48359BD8B41C.jpeg
     
  9. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,197
    Likes Received:
    6,225
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    I haven't seen the BER implemented yet on any image.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  10. Chewie

    Chewie SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    California
    I have the 955Q and it works well and I get around 150 channels on the Vix Image
    I do Manual scan on my boxes.
     

    Attached Files:

    raydio likes this.
  11. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    FL
    950q works with open vix. Make sure in tuner config the tuner is set ATSC Terrestrial TV-8VSB and not cable TV.
     
  12. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I see this driver (through Webif "settings" screen) in SatDreamGr, maybe you can load it on your OpenVix image?

    enigma2-plugin-drivers-atsc-usb-hauppauge-950q (1.0-r0)
    USB ATSC driver for Hauppauge 950Q WinTV-HVR Tuner
     
  13. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Will give it a try this evening.
     
    Titanium and primestar31 like this.
  14. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Adding that driver worked. Thanks!

    BF2046BA-FB28-423C-BF98-C0042391811B.jpeg
    BD8CB9DD-B2B0-451B-9D65-02A0E23421C1.jpeg C3A5C27A-8D27-44FF-B3A4-EA54AF9950D4.jpeg
     
    primestar31 and Titanium like this.
  15. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,992
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Cool, glad I could help! Do an image backup right away!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  16. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Anybody know how to make the channels
    appear in ascending order? Right now, there seems to be no rhyme or reason to how they appear in the list:

    81485279-2673-4530-9311-11AA2AED58FD.jpeg
     
  17. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,560
    Likes Received:
    3,542
    Location:
    Montana
    Can anyone recommend a good source for the Hauppauge ATSC sticks? Is there a difference between the 950Q vs 955Q?
     
  18. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    FL
    Using openvix. Menu/setup/tuner config/Miscellaneous
    Turn off "no" all 3 ignore DVB-S,DVB-C and DVB-T namespace subnetwork.Then green button to save and exit out back to tv.
    Open channel selection list and press green button "Satellites" Delete or remove the Terrestrial Services with menu button.
    Rescan the ATSC channels again with Manual scan,scan type complete.
    After scan go to Terrestrial-Services they will still show no rhyme or reason. Now reboot the mio4k and go back to Terrestial services and if they are in order go back and Turn on"yes" all 3 ignore dvb-s,c and t.
    They should stay in order after that.
    You can do same with other images but the ignore dvb is in different location than Openvix.

    .
     
  19. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Ebay. Picked up my 950Q for $20. I got that particular model because there are drivers for it already. Not sure about the 955Q.
     
    Magic Static likes this.
  20. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    FL
    They use differnet drivers so they are different. 955q works really good on openvix but is a little slugish on other images but it's not bad. 950q tunes fast but epg info is slower to populate over the 955q. The Xbox One Hauppauge tuner is the same as 955Q and about $20.00 less in price.
    Ebay is where mine came from.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...