Scott Forstall was asked to leave Apple because he refused to sign a maps appology

mike123abc

Too many cables
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 25, 2003
Norman, OK
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB100...16304.html?mod=WSJ_hp_LEFTWhatsNewsCollection

Mr. Forstall, a 15-year Apple veteran, ran one of the company's most prominent groups—its mobile software unit—and was one of its most important executives. The name of Mr. Forstall, a protégé of Mr. Jobs, was once bandied about as a possible successor. He rose quickly at the company and earned a reputation for risk taking. But he was also known as difficult to work with, and "never fit into the culture of Apple," said one person familiar with the matter.

Apple Inc. executive Scott Forstall was asked to leave the company after he refused to sign his name to a letter apologizing for shortcomings in Apple's new mapping service, according to people familiar with the matter.

vodad:

I'm no expert on any kind of law, but that doesn't stop me from opening my mouth on the topic.

I don't see how a non-compete clause could be legal anywhere; but I also don't think it would be ethical to take trade secrets from Company A to Company B either.

Read the whole article, not just the featured quotes. Forstall has been involved in a number of run-ins with other Apple executives over the years. I'm surprised he lasted as long as he did without Steve Jobs to cover for him.

John, I agree.

And to tell you the truth, I would not want him anywhere near android. I hate the Apple interface.
I honestly would look for him to go to Microsoft before I would see him working for google, or samsung or any of the other android folks.

I don't see how a non-compete clause could be legal anywhere...