4K FTA HD Receivers?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by K9SAT, Jan 24, 2015.

  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Hadn't heard about the Manhattan 4K box delay - any idea how long?
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. mr3p

    mr3p SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    West
    From Manhattan:

    "Regarding our 4K unit. The issue still stands. We have the order in, they are not going to build it this year. They instead are pushing for more IP/ATSC units instead. I will have these samples in next month."

    "Looking back, we have spent over a years time on this development on Hisilicon 3798 V200 chipset for satellite and a separate IP/ATSC unit. Only to be further delayed for the satellite unit because we don't order so many. The indicated the beginning of next year when they are slower for the satellite unit. "
     
  4. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the info mr3p. It's a shame to hear of the delay but such is the world of FTA... :(
     
  5. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Boonies
    Looks like 6 sold 4 available, so there are some on the market. Intersted to see how it works out!


     
  6. BigRyan

    BigRyan SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Posts:
    227
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Texas
    I couldn't bring my self to order from eBay, the seller seemed a little iffy. So instead I have ordered the Nvidia Shield TV for hardware reasons. I have been looking into several user projects with DVBapi and successful attempts of running USB DVB-S2 tuners. One thing is for sure, Nvidia knows how to do 4k h.265 and HDR the right way. Streaming 4K feeds to the Shield should be a piece of cake after getting it to work on a Roku 4.
     
  7. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    94,976
    Likes Received:
    9,565
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    Love my Nvidia shield!


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    Tecnicoloco likes this.
  8. Al K

    Al K SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I saw this review of the Wetek Play 2 on satforums.com. You can long-in as a guest. I had read on the Wetek forums that users were having a problem getting the hdmi to output 4k. This reviewer is using a 1080 display, but has verified recordings on a 4k display. Can anyone confirm that the hdmi output displays 4k correctly on the Wetek Play 2?
     
  9. BigRyan

    BigRyan SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Posts:
    227
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Texas
    So its now 2017 and I still don't have a 4k receiver so I thought I would check with everyone else and see if you guys have anything legit yet. I see the VU+ Uno 4K would be available if I lived somewhere other than the USA :( It looks like it would be a good box having HDMI 2.0, USB 3.0, and gigabit LAN. The HDMI 2.0 part almost guarantees trouble free 2160p@60Hz, instead of playing the guessing game with boxes that say HEVC but don't list output resolution.

    Going to ramble on for a moment to share my 4K experiences so far.

    If the device is 4K it might have to be connected to HDMI 2.0 to get the 4K. For example I recently bought the Samsung UHD Blu-ray player UBD-K8500 and connected it to my TV, Vizio M60-C3. The Vizio has 4 4K@30Hz inputs and 1 4K@60 HDMI 2.0. When connected to any of the 4K30Hz ports it will only output 1080p. HDCP is probably the real reason for this. This really makes no since because Movies are 24Hz or 24p and the player switches the frame rate once the move starts playing. Nvidia shield works fine on a 4K30Hz port and plays Movies at the desired 24p.

    So to get back on topic and stay true to the thread, who has a real 4K FTA receiver they would like to comment on?
     
  10. Al K

    Al K SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ


    The U5 PVR deluxe looks really interesting. It's for sale at AliExpress.com.
     
    BigRyan likes this.
  11. BigRyan

    BigRyan SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Posts:
    227
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Texas
    Is AliExpress.com OK to deal with, any experience with them?
     
  12. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,162
    Likes Received:
    4,217
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Have had several good transactions and a few bad. Use a credit card in case the transaction goes south. I had to do a CC charge back to recover monies from an AliExpress transaction gone bad. AliExpress is not like dealing with Ebay/Paypal/Amazon. The buyer is on their own as the site support never replied to my repeat emails.
     
  13. Al K

    Al K SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Review of the U5 PVR on cnx-software.com in two parts. I wonder when someone will make a receiver that works out of the box.
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  14. Comptech

    Comptech SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    Location:
    Travelers Rest SC
    Looks like Rick is going to be selling the Octagon 4K unit soon. A few people have them here in N.A. already and love them. I am saving my pennies for one. But for now I am quite happy with my PC setup.
     
    Lehman bud farm likes this.
  15. KC7NOA

    KC7NOA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    spokane wa
    My fear when dealing with a comumist country .... being an outsider i have no recourse except ???

    Sent from my SM-G930V using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  16. KC7NOA

    KC7NOA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    spokane wa
    I might be putting this question in the wrong forum area: what is the power requirement of this setup (ignoring the BUD controlls)

    I plan on running 100% DC and I like knowing my power requirements. And ill deflect statements about having HD is not power use sensitive. I dont plan on a 4K display ... im happy with 1200x600 40fps @ 1.2watts. My future set up will not only be for Rx but Tx too (yea , im weird). Still yet to decide on skew controll.....

    I hope some sort of standard for 4k does lean in the way of DVB-S2X or such that not a huge codec build is needed.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  17. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Boonies
    Depends on dish size for transmitting power... more gain = less TX pwr requirements. TX equipment would be minimum 200w up to 1kw (or more) depending on amp configuration/efficiency, taking into consideration modulators, exciter, up-converter/transverter, audio and video processing, and anything else in the TX chain. Then most of that equipment runs on 120/240vac so you would need DC->AC conversion too, adding another efficiency cost.

    Sometimes TV stations put up an uplink truck for sale...

    Are you going to be uplinking? That would be cool!


     
  18. KC7NOA

    KC7NOA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    spokane wa
    The dish i have now is 9.5' ... uplink on 5.8ghz down on 10ghz ... probably use 2 BUD's

    Sent from my SM-G930V using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  19. Lehman bud farm

    Lehman bud farm SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts:
    354
    Likes Received:
    269
    Location:
    Chantilly
    A few things on this receiver....

    “records and plays back anything”
    “it does ACM/VCM”
    “It does 16APSK”

    if or how well the Blind scan will work is still unknown.
    Nice to hear back from some who already have this receiver and like it.
    Sounds promising and without much of the drama surrounding other receivers.
     
    Cham likes this.
  20. john_robot

    john_robot SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    4
  21. Comptech

    Comptech SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    Location:
    Travelers Rest SC
    I think I had enough experience with android boxes with my A3. Please follow up and let us know how it works.
     
    Jim S., iBoston and Cham like this.



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...