OTA adapter on the Edision OS MIO 4K

Discussion in 'Android and Enigma/Linux Based STB Discussion' started by comfortably_numb, Mar 11, 2019.

  1. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Montana
    You're right. I didn't see a 950 without the Q before. These must be what Brian's customer is up against.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,308
    Likes Received:
    6,463
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Was working from the smartphone, so the screen shot resolution was too poor to read when zoomed. Now on a desktop, I can see the supported models "Q"... Foiled by technology.

    Thanks again!
     
    comfortably_numb and primestar31 like this.
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Montana
    Titanium likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,427
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Titanium likes this.
  5. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Montana
    The seller misspelled Hauppauge, so using that word in the search doesn't bring it up.
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,427
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I bought mine from that seller and he ships quickly. Highly recommend.
     
    Magic Static likes this.
  7. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,159
    Likes Received:
    4,394
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I just got my full retail $21.50 Hauppauge 955q with everything that normally comes with it, Windows cd disc, antenna, remote, dongle, and all adapters and am setting it up. I hooked it up to my outside antenna, plugged it in the Mio, did a reboot, scanned, sorted the channels in the WebIF bouquet editor.

    I just repointed my epg.dat file to my external USB drive, and I'm checking to see how far out I can get EPG data to load and stay.
     
    FTA4PA and comfortably_numb like this.
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,427
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Be sure to report back your findings :)
     
    FTA4PA and primestar31 like this.
  9. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,159
    Likes Received:
    4,394
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    At present, the most I can get full EPG for all my OTA channels is about 24 hours out. This is with the NA SDGr final image.

    Since I haven't used PSIP ATSC epg for anything for many years, I do not know if that's the present amount of data my local channels provide, OR, if it's some sort of present limitation of the Mio without changing a setting I haven't found, or what.

    1_0_1_4_5BD_0_EEEE0209_0_0_4_20190417183205.jpg
    1_0_1_4_5BD_0_EEEE0209_0_0_4_20190417183327.jpg
     
    Corrado and comfortably_numb like this.
  10. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,308
    Likes Received:
    6,463
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
  11. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I don't like buying used stuff but I guess I'll save a few bucks and order one.
     
  12. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Montana
    I don't like used electrical stuff either. But this deal had several plusses. The right price, not from China, and only the unit and USB cable. The rest of the stuff in a new box would just sit on the shelf.
     
  13. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    Montana
    I just got the one I ordered. I already had an XBox One version installed in the Edision. So I put the Edision into Deep Standby. That turned off the USB power and I swapped the tuner out with the 950Q model. Powered up the Edision and it showed the new tuner instead of the XBox One version. The channel list remained intact and operated just fine. Too simple ;)
     
    Titanium and comfortably_numb like this.
  14. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,159
    Likes Received:
    4,394
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Now all we need is somebody to build a downloader app to download epg from TitanTv as an .xml file. That's what I was playing with when I accidentally nuked my image in slot1 the other day. I'm kind of gun shy to try again too soon, LOL. Let me make it very clear though that I caused the image corruption, due to messing snooping in the Mio's file structure through Network Neighborhood, and my trackpad accidentally dragging a folder as a MOVE where it didn't belong. IF I had not then rebooted, I would have been fine to move the folder back where it belonged (once I knew where that was, that is) I saw the move, I didn't see where it came from, just where it dropped.

    mc2xml

    mc2xml

    zap2xml
     
    #74 primestar31, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    Titanium and comfortably_numb like this.
  15. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I took the risk and ordered one. Hopefully, all the stuff I bought will bring my project together.
     
  16. Corrado

    Corrado SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Hudson Valley Region, NY
    I set mine up over the weekend for a test with the NA SDGr image and was plug and play.

    The data for my locals are 24 hours at the most. The 950Q is really sensitive even on my weakest stations here.

    A nice bonus for a great receiver. My 950Q was only $10 shipped. Surprising how warm it gets after extended run time.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  17. jaytee4320

    jaytee4320 SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Surrey,B.C., Canada
    Dusted off my 950Q that was laying around for 5 years since I went to HDHomerun Connect tuners.
    Plugged it in,rebooted and scanned in 52 channels from US and Canada...you're right Corrado it's very sensitive.
    Really like the EPG...nice and easy to set recordings.
    I'm also using NA SDGr image.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  18. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I'm surprised that they provide an atsc driver since they don't use this in Europe (as far as I know). They don't use atsc anywhere outside the U.S.? By the way, I noticed that there's a driver for the newer 955. I don't know if the 955 works any better but I'll see how well the 950 works when it arrives next week.
     
  19. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    7,427
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    This STB has a European OTA tuner built in, so I'd wager a guess the driver was added by someone in the US to support the optional ATSC dongle.
     
    jaytee4320 and primestar31 like this.
  20. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,159
    Likes Received:
    4,394
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Titanium likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...